I Like How You Said That

One thing that stood out and has been on replay in my head a few times today was a conversation I had with Eme and Laura at lunch. As we were paying our bill, Eme was talking about an app she downloaded called “Mint” – it keeps track of a person’s money habits, to put it simply. Her mentioning the app reminded me of how bad I am about paying down my credit card debt, which led me to share with the girls how I’ve realized that I am better at paying off debt when I owe a person directly than when I have to do otherwise.

For example, last November I went to Hawai’i and Alabama and spent way more money than I should have. Not only did I spend a lot of my own money, I also spent my friend B’s money via her Macy’s credit card. I must say, though, I had a very good reason to shop: I needed cold weather clothes (I live on a tropical island!). Anyway, I spent about $600 in a matter of two hours. Now, if I charged that amount of money on my own credit card, I would probably only pay a little more than the minimum required amount per month and then use the card some more. In this case, because I had to pay B directly, I paid off my debt in two instalments, which was what her and I agreed on (plus, I added a little extra to cover interest).

Anyway, the thing that stood out in the conversation was when I was telling the girls something along the lines of, “I am better about paying off my debt to an actual person than when I have to pay online or onsite. I don’t know…I just can’t. <pause> I mean, I just DON’T do it…”

In response, Laura said, “I like how you said that, how you corrected yourself. That you “don’t do it” not “can’t do it”.

That really stood out to me and it got me thinking more about how I talk and the words I use. Reflecting on the conversation and noticing that I was aware about what I said at that very moment and maybe even am being more aware about how I say things in general make me feel good and more confident. I find it more and more necessary to use the right words when speaking with people and I think it’s good practice. It may seem like something so simple, but I feel it can change the meaning of your words significantly and not always in a good way.

Did you have a random moment similar to this today? Please, do share.

Leave a Reply

